Social Media sites have a great impact on our society today, as well our own personal well-being. Twitter might be much smaller than almost every other social network, but its effect is amplified due to traditional media.
If you feel like your tweeting days are over, and you’re googling “how to delete a Twitter account,” you’ve arrived at the right place.
How to Deactivate Your Twitter Account
If there is one thing I like about Twitter, it’s the UX design across all platforms. Whether you use the Twitter app on Android, iOS, or the Twitter website, the experience is clean, simple, and uncomplicated.
Even better, regardless of the platform, the steps you must follow to deactivate your Twitter account are the same.
- Open the Twitter app on iOS or Android, or the Twitter website in a browser.
- On the app, tap on your profile picture in the top-left to open the menu drawer.
- On the website, click More from the side navigation menu.
- Tap or click on Settings and Support to expand the section.
- Select Settings and privacy.
- Go to Your account.
- Select Deactivate Account.
- Tap or click on the red Deactivate link at the bottom.
Once you click Deactivate, you will be logged out of Twitter everywhere. In addition, your profile will disappear from the platform.
How to Delete Twitter Account Permanently
Twitter is a social network constantly surrounded by controversies. It can also be a pretty toxic place, but that’s true for any social network. So, there are genuine reasons for even the most prolific Twitter users amongst you to want to delete your Twitter account.
Unfortunately, Twitter does not allow you to delete your account permanently. At least, there is no direct option to delete it permanently. You can, however, deactivate your Twitter account, as mentioned above.
If you don’t log in again within 30 days of deactivation, Twitter will delete your account permanently.
Some Things to Consider…
Before letting that happen, you should consider a few things. Once you delete your Twitter account permanently, you won’t be able to access anything you’ve posted.
Twitter allows you to download your data before you go ahead and deactivate your account. Also, if you use Twitter to log into any other apps and services, they will not work once you delete your account. In that case, you will want to create an additional login method to those apps or services before deleting your Twitter account.
If you’re a Twitter Blue subscriber, you should also cancel the subscription before deleting your Twitter account. Otherwise, you could potentially face a situation where you’re getting charged for it even though you don’t have Twitter Blue anymore. And you won’t even have a Twitter account to cancel the subscription. In that case, you will need to contact Twitter support.
FAQ: How to Delete Twitter Account or Deactivate It
Twitter does not let you directly delete your account. This is a security measure just in case you accidentally delete your account. You can, however, deactivate your account temporarily. If you don’t log in for 30 days after that, Twitter will delete your account.
To delete your Twitter account from your Android phone, go to Settings > Passwords & accounts and select your Twitter account. On the next page, tap on the Remove account button.If you want to delete your Twitter account using your phone permanently, you can follow the steps mentioned in the tutorial above.
Deleting the Twitter app from your devices will not delete your Twitter account. However, if you deactivate your Twitter account and do not log in again for 30 days, your account will be permanently deleted. In that case, you cannot access your account ever again.